Scope of search

Navigation




Genealogy

Family tree of the Erlach family (AD 928)

Scale up Family tree of the Erlach family (AD 928)

If you are interested in researching your family history (also known as "genealogy"), the parish records (Kirchenbücher in German) are very important. These records of baptisms, marriages and deaths kept by the parish priests were the forerunners of today’s civil registers.

The parish records for most Bernese parishes from the time of the Reformation until the Federal Marital Status Act came into force in 1876 are now stored in the State Archives. The parish records for the parishes of Frutigen, Guttannen, Lenk and Saanen are not yet available in the State Archives.

In order to preserve them properly, all parish records have been microfilmed. Since February 2017, they have been available online.

What you need to do

Researching your family history on the basis of the Bernese parish records is only possible if your family’s place of origin is in the canton of Bern.

Research into a family history begins with its most recent members. Information about family members must as far as possible be obtained from the relevant civil register office. If you have information dating back to around 1870, then you can continue your research with the aid of the parish records. You can do this at the State Archives or you can do it online from your own home.

The parish records were handwritten in old German script (in German Kurrentschrift, Spitzschrift). You therefore need a basic knowledge of how to read this script.

Researching your family history in the State Archives

The digitalised parish records can still be inspected every Friday on computers that have been specially set up for this purpose. If you are interested, you can make an appointment to use one. Unfortunately the State Archives cannot guarantee that a computer will always be available.

Researching your family history online

In order to access the parish records online, click on the following link www.be.ch/kirchenbuecher. Click on the “+” symbol to navigate to the desired parish, or to the records that you are looking for. 

Representation Onlineinventar, archive plan search

Scale up Representation Onlineinventar, archive plan search

Double-clicking on the desired parish record book (e.g. K Aarberg 1 Taufrodel …) will give you a detailed view of the record. In the lower third of the data sheet, under “Files“, you will find the digitalised parish record book as a pdf file. By double-clicking on the underlined name you can open the file. Please be patient – the files are very large and it may take a moment or two before they open.

Representation Archivplan context

Scale up Representation Archivplan context

In order to get back to the overview, click on “Localize in archive plan” in the blue column on the left. 

The following professional genealogists can offer your further information on genealogy or help in researching your family history:


Further information

 


Mein Warenkorb ([BASKETITEMCOUNT])

Information about this website

http://www.sta.be.ch/sta/en/index/staatsarchiv/staatsarchiv/genealogie.html

Suchbereich

Stichwörter von A bis Z

Navigation




Genealogie

Stammbau der Familie von Erlach (AD 928)

Bild vergrössern Stammbau der Familie von Erlach (AD 928)

Zur Erforschung der Familiengeschichte (auch "Genealogie" genannt) sind die so genannten "Kirchenbücher" von zentraler Bedeutung. Diese von den Pfarrern geführten Tauf-, Ehe- und Totenrodel sind die Vorläufer der heutigen Zivilstandsregister.

Die Kirchenbücher der meisten bernischen Kirchgemeinden aus der Zeit von der Reformation bis zum Inkrafttreten des Eidgenössischen Zivilstandsgesetzes (1876) werden zentral im Staatsarchiv aufbewahrt. Noch nicht im Staatsarchiv befinden sich die Kirchenbücher der Gemeinden Frutigen, Guttannen, Lenk und Saanen.

Aus konservatorischen Gründen wurden alle Kirchenbücher mikroverfilmt. Seit Februar 2017 sind sie online verfügbar.

Vorgehen

Familienforschung anhand der bernischen Kirchenbücher ist nur möglich, wenn der Heimatort der erforschten Familie im Kanton Bern liegt.

Die Erforschung einer Familie beginnt bei deren jüngsten Mitgliedern. Auskünfte über die Familienmitglieder müssen so weit wie möglich beim zuständigen Zivilstandsamt eingeholt werden. Sind diese rückwärts bis ca. 1870 bekannt, kann die Arbeit mit Hilfe der Kirchenbücher weitergeführt werden. Dies kann entweder wie bisher vor Ort im Staatsarchiv erfolgen oder aber online von zu Hause aus.

Die Kirchenbücher sind in der Alten Deutschen Schrift ("deutsche Kurrentschrift", "Spitzschrift") verfasst. Grundkenntnisse im Lesen dieser Schrift sind deshalb notwendig.

Familienforschung im Staatsarchiv

Die digitalisierten Kirchenbücher sind weiterhin jeweils am Freitag an eigens dafür eingerichteten Computern einsehbar. Interessierte Forscherinnen und Forscher können sich im Voraus ein Gerät reservieren lassen. Das Staatsarchiv kann nicht garantieren, dass freie Arbeitsplätze zur Verfügung stehen.

Familienforschung online von zuhause aus

Um zu den Online-Kirchenbüchern zu gelangen, öffnen Sie folgenden Link www.be.ch/kirchenbuecher. Navigieren Sie nun mit dem Symbol „+“ bis Sie bei der gewünschten Kirchgemeinde, resp. dem gesuchten Kirchenbuch angelangt sind. 

Darstellung Onlineinventar, Archivplansuche

Bild vergrössern Darstellung Onlineinventar, Archivplansuche

Mit einem Doppelklick auf das gewünschte Kirchenbuch (z.B. K Aarberg 1 Taufrodel …) öffnet sich eine Detailansicht. Im unteren Drittel des Datenblatts finden Sie unter „Dateien“ das digitalisierte Kirchenbuch als pdf-Datei. Mit einem Doppelklick auf den unterstrichenen Namen können Sie die Datei öffnen. Bitte haben Sie etwas Geduld – die Dateien sind sehr gross und benötigen möglicherweise einen Moment, bis sie geöffnet sind.

Darstellung Archivplan-Kontext

Bild vergrössern Darstellung Archivplan-Kontext

Um zurück zur Übersicht zu gelangen, klicken Sie links in der blauen Spalte auf „Im Archivplan lokalisieren“. 

Weiterführende Informationen zur Genealogie oder Hilfe bei familiengeschichtlichen Nachforschungen bieten die folgenden professionellen Genealoginnen und Genealogen:


Weitere Informationen

Onlineinventar des Staatsarchivs des Kantons Bern

 


Mein Warenkorb ([BASKETITEMCOUNT])

Informationen über diesen Webauftritt

http://www.sta.be.ch/sta/de/index/staatsarchiv/staatsarchiv/genealogie.html