Scope of search

Navigation




Genealogy

Family tree of the Erlach family (AD 928)

Scale up Family tree of the Erlach family (AD 928)

If you are interested in researching your family history (also known as "genealogy"), the parish records (Kirchenbücher in German) are very important. These records of baptisms, marriages and deaths kept by the parish priests were the forerunners of today’s civil registers.

The parish records for most Bernese parishes from the time of the Reformation until the Federal Marital Status Act came into force in 1876 are now stored in the State Archives. The parish records for the parishes of Frutigen, Guttannen, Lenk and Saanen are not yet available in the State Archives.

In order to preserve them properly, all parish records have been microfilmed. Since February 2017, they have been available online.

What you need to do

Researching your family history on the basis of the Bernese parish records is only possible if your family’s place of origin is in the canton of Bern.

Research into a family history begins with its most recent members. Information about family members must as far as possible be obtained from the relevant civil register office. If you have information dating back to around 1870, then you can continue your research with the aid of the parish records. You can do this at the State Archives or you can do it online from your own home.

The parish records were handwritten in old German script (in German Kurrentschrift, Spitzschrift). You therefore need a basic knowledge of how to read this script.

Researching your family history in the State Archives

The digitalised parish records can still be inspected every Friday on computers that have been specially set up for this purpose. If you are interested, you can make an appointment to use one. Unfortunately the State Archives cannot guarantee that a computer will always be available.

Researching your family history online

In order to access the parish records online, click on the following link www.be.ch/kirchenbuecher. Click on the “+” symbol to navigate to the desired parish, or to the records that you are looking for. 

Representation Onlineinventar, archive plan search

Scale up Representation Onlineinventar, archive plan search

Double-clicking on the desired parish record book (e.g. K Aarberg 1 Taufrodel …) will give you a detailed view of the record. In the lower third of the data sheet, under “Files“, you will find the digitalised parish record book as a pdf file. By double-clicking on the underlined name you can open the file. Please be patient – the files are very large and it may take a moment or two before they open.

Representation Archivplan context

Scale up Representation Archivplan context

In order to get back to the overview, click on “Localize in archive plan” in the blue column on the left. 

The following professional genealogists can offer your further information on genealogy or help in researching your family history:


Further information

 


Mein Warenkorb ([BASKETITEMCOUNT])

Information about this website

http://www.sta.be.ch/sta/en/index/staatsarchiv/staatsarchiv/genealogie.html

Domaine de recherche

Mots-clés de A à Z

Navigation




Généalogie

Arbre généalogique de la famille d’Erlach (AD 928)

Agrandir l'image Arbre généalogique de la famille d’Erlach (AD 928)

Pour découvrir l’histoire de sa famille, c’est-à-dire faire des recherches généalogiques, les registres paroissiaux sont de la plus haute importance. Ces registres des baptêmes, des mariages et des décès, qui ont été tenus par les ministres du culte, ont précédé les registres d’état civil actuels.

Les registres paroissiaux de la majeure partie des paroisses bernoises sont conservés aux Archives de l’Etat. Les premiers datent de la Réformation. Ils s’arrêtent tous à l’entrée en vigueur de la loi fédérale sur l’état civil (1876). Les registres paroissiaux de Frutigen, Guttannen, la Lenk et Saanen n’ont pas encore été versés aux Archives de l’Etat.

Afin d’être préservés, tous les registres paroissiaux ont été microfilmés. Ils sont disponibles en ligne depuis février 2017.

Comment procéder ?

Les recherches généalogiques dans les registres paroissiaux bernois ne sont possibles que si la commune d’origine se trouve dans les frontières actuelles du canton de Berne.

Pour établir la généalogie d’une famille, il faut commencer par identifier ses membres les plus jeunes. Les renseignements nécessaires doivent être demandés à l’•office de l’état civil compétent. Lorsque les membres de la famille sont connus d’aujourd’hui à 1870 environ, les recherches peuvent être poursuivies à l’aide des registres paroissiaux. Vous pouvez effectuer ces recherches aux Archives de l’Etat, comme auparavant, ou en ligne.

Les registres paroissiaux sont écrits en cursive gothique allemande. Des connaissances de base sont requises pour déchiffrer cette écriture.

Recherches généalogiques aux Archives de l’Etat

Les registres paroissiaux numérisés sont toujours consultables le vendredi sur les ordinateurs prévus à cet effet. Les chercheuses et chercheurs intéressés peuvent réserver un ordinateur à l’avance. Les Archives de l’Etat ne peuvent pas garantir qu’une place soit disponible.

Recherches généalogiques en ligne

Pour accéder aux registres paroissiaux en ligne, cliquez sur le lien suivant www.be.ch/registres-paroissiaux. Naviguez au moyen du symbole « + » jusqu’à atteindre le registre paroissial recherché.

Représentation  répetoire en ligne, Recherche dans le plan d'archivage

Agrandir l'image Représentation répetoire en ligne, Recherche dans le plan d'archivage

Effectuez un double-clic sur le registre paroissial souhaité (par exemple K Aarberg 1 Taufrodel…) : un aperçu détaillé s’ouvre. Dans le tiers inférieur de la fiche de données, vous trouverez le registre paroissial numérisé en format PDF sous la section « Fichiers ». Effectuez un double-clic sur le lien souligné pour ouvrir le fichier. Faites preuve de patience : les données sont très volumineuses et peuvent prendre du temps à s’ouvrir.

Représentation contexte de plan d'archivage

Agrandir l'image Représentation contexte de plan d'archivage

Pour retourner à la vue d’ensemble, cliquez sur « Localiser dans le plan d’archivage » dans la colonne bleue située à gauche de l’écran.

Les généalogistes professionnels suivants peuvent vous renseigner et vous aider dans vos recherches généalogiques:


Informations supplémentaires

Répertoire en ligne des Archives de l'Etat de Berne

 


Mon panier ([BASKETITEMCOUNT])

Informations sur ce site Internet

http://www.sta.be.ch/sta/fr/index/staatsarchiv/staatsarchiv/genealogie.html